Share a Domain Model

   MaestroPreviously known as Transact Maestro.  |   Form BuilderPlatform Developer |  18.05 This feature was introduced in 18.05.

Note

To share a domain model, your Manager user account must be assigned a role that has the necessary permissions; for example, the Maestro Administrator role in its default configuration.

A shared domain model can be used in global forms – for example, with collaboration jobs – and can re-use existing elements including those created by other developers.

A single domain model is created automatically when a new form is created in Maestro. Domain models can also be imported from other sources and shared to a library.

The following screenshot shows how the Model pane appears when a domain model hasn’t been shared.

To share a domain model, follow the steps below:

  1. Click Manage Models. The Manage Domain Models dialog is displayed. If any other models are available to the form, they will be displayed in this dialog under Other Available Domain Models.
  2. Click Share. The Manage Domain Models dialog changes to allow you to provide a new Title and/or Resource Name for the model you are sharing.
  3. Note

    By default, Maestro will keep a local copy of the domain model. If you do not want to keep a local copy of the Domain Model, clear the Keep local copy for further editing option.

  4. Select the library that you want to share the domain model to. When a library is selected, all forms with access to that library will have access to the shared model.
  5. Click Share. The Manage Domain Models dialog changes to display and identify the library that the domain model has been shared to. The screenshot highlights the library that the imported domain model has been shared to. It allows you to copy the model and edit it for use in the form. It This also displays any other domain models that are available to the selected form. You can select any of the available models and share them to a library.
  6. Click Close. The screenshot shows how the Model pane appears once the My Domain model has been shared.

When a domain model has been shared, the lock icon next to the domain model’s name will change from open (unlocked) to closed (locked). Any new entities created in a shared/locked domain model will not be mapped or shared with other forms and libraries.

When sharing a domain model, it is important to note that the local copy of the domain model takes precedence over the shared domain model. Therefore, it is recommended that when you share a domain model and choose to keep a local copy to edit, you should rename the local copy of your Domain Model to avoid any confusion about which domain model you are using.