Data Retention Policies

   Journey Manager (JM) Previously known as Transact Manager (TM).  |    System Manager / DevOps  |  v5.1 & Higher This feature is related to v5.1 and higher.

Manager provides you with two modes of data retention policy, strict and relaxed. The selected policy determines the default data retention management configuration at the environment level, which are used throughout the Manager server, unless data retention is configured at the organization or form level. The policy mode is selected during a Manager installation or upgrade.

To check the data retention policy mode of your environment, select System > System Info , go to the Build Properties section and look for data.retention.policy.

It's recommended to use the strict mode, which constrains the potential amount of data retained within Manager by restricting the maximum age of transaction data. It prevents problems related to long data retention such as:

Both the strict and relaxed modes apply the global default settings to data retention configuration. To view and configure the default settings, follow one of the links below:

  • Global data retention configuration.
  • The Organization's Data Management tab for a specific organization.
  • The Form's Details tab for a specific form.

The default settings can be individually configured with a value that can't exceed the maximum value defined for each property.

Note

You can't change Submission Data Extracts and Submission Properties default values.

The differences between the strict and relaxed modes are outlined below for the following data types:

Saved Transactions

This setting determines how long to keep user saved transactions before they are abandoned by Manager and become finished transactions. The Manager environment setting is initially set to the default, but you can change it to any value that doesn't exceed the maximum. Organization and form level settings can be used to override the environment settings. However, they cannot exceed the maximum value.

  • Strict Mode: default is 30 days, maximum is 180 days.
  • Relaxed Mode: default is 30 days, maximum is 2 years.

Finished Transactions with PII Data

This setting determines how long to keep data entered by the user before it is deleted. The Manager environment setting is initially set to the default, but you can change it to any value that doesn’t exceed the maximum. Organization and form level settings can be used to override the environment settings. However, they cannot exceed the maximum value.

  • Strict Mode: default is 7 days, maximum is 30 days.
  • Relaxed Mode: default is 7 days, maximum is 2 years.

Finished Transactions

This setting determines how long to keep finished transactions before they are deleted. Finished transactions include transactions that have been marked as abandoned or completed. The Manager environment setting is initially set to the default, but you can change it to any value that doesn’t exceed the maximum. Organization and form level settings can be used to override the environment settings. However, they cannot exceed the maximum value.

  • Strict Mode: default is 90 days, maximum is 2 years.
  • Relaxed Mode: default is 90 days, maximum is 5 years.

Finished Collaboration Jobs

This setting determines how long to keep finished collaboration jobs before they are deleted. The Manager environment setting is initially set to the default, but you can change it to any value that doesn’t exceed the maximum . Organization and form level settings can be used to override the environment settings. However, they cannot exceed the maximum value.

  • Strict Mode: default is 90 days, maximum is 2 years.
  • Relaxed Mode: default is 90 days, maximum is 2 years.

Submission Data Extracts

This setting determines how long to keep submission data extracts before they are deleted. You can't override this setting, unless it's Manager version prior to 17.10 and it's in the relaxed mode.

  • Strict Mode: default is 7 days, maximum is 30 days.
  • Relaxed Mode: default is 7 days, maximum is 2 years.

Submission Properties

The setting determines how long to keep submission properties before they are deleted. You cannot override this setting, unless it's Manager version prior to 17.10 and it's in the relaxed mode.

  • Strict Mode: default is 7 days, maximum is 30 days.
  • Relaxed Mode: default is 7 days, maximum is 2 years.

When you configure data retention policies in Manager, you need to consider the following:

Note

The Journey platform is intended to be a system of engagement rather than a system of records. That’s why both the relaxed and strict data retention policies have been shortened over time.

Manager keeps data only for as long as it is required within the transaction life cycle. It is recommended to use the strictest possible data retention management policy to avoid excessive data base growth and potential problems during any recurring Manager upgrades.

However, often it is a balancing act between maintaining a lean, well performing and responsive system, while providing an adequate time frame for users to return to and complete their submitted forms. After sufficient time, given to users to complete their transactions, has elapsed, all incomplete transactions are automatically abandoned.

PII data is automatically purged from the transactions soon after the user has submitted their form to minimize any potential security risk. It’s recommended to use the strict data retention policy for any production Manager instances.

Next, learn about data retention schedule.