User Visibility Rules for Collaboration Jobs

   Journey Manager (JM) Previously known as Transact Manager (TM).  |    System Manager / DevOps  |  v19.05 This feature was introduced in v19.05.

Manager allows a user to view collaboration jobs in the Workspaces portal and retrieve them using the APIs, if the following rules apply:

  1. A user must have the Collaboration Job View permission for the form space to see collaboration jobs.
    • Only collaboration jobs with the In Progress status are further selected.
    • Only the collaboration jobs that are in the same form space as the user are selected. If this is not defined, this rule is not applied.
  2. Manager further refines rules to select a subset of collaboration jobs from the collection above:
    • The collaboration jobs have no groups assigned or if there are groups assigned, the user is in one of those groups and
    • The user does not have global access then the user must be in a organization that the collaboration job is in.

To explain how these rules work, we will list several users, collaboration jobs, and their combinations showing whether a user can view these collaboration jobs or not.

The first table shows users with the access to four organizations, some of which have global access, and two groups.

  Org1 Org2 Org3 Org4 Global Access Group1 Group2 Permission
User1

           

Collaboration Job View

User2  

         

Collaboration Job View

User3

       

 

Collaboration Job View

User4  

       

Collaboration Job View

User5    

       

Collaboration Job View

User6      

   

Collaboration Job View

User7      

 

Collaboration Job View

User8      

Collaboration Job View

User9

     

     

The second table shows whether a user can see transactions or not. collaboration jobs belonging to one of the two organizations and two groups.

  Org1 Org2 Group1 Group2
Job1

     
Job2  

   
Job3

 

 
Job4  

 

Job5

 

Note

A collaboration job is limited to one organization but can have any number of groups.

This table shows whether a user can see collaboration jobs or not.

  Job1 Job2 Job3 Job4 Job5
User1

       
User2  

     
User3

 

 

User4  

   
User5          
User6

     
User7

 

User8

User9          

This table helps you understand why users might not see some or any collaboration jobs in their work spaces, so you can review the user role, group, and permission configurations to resolve the access issues. To illustrate this, we have provided a few examples:

  • The User 1 starts working on the Job 1 collaboration job, but can't continue with it. The User 3 has right permissions to work on the Job 1, so the User 3 can complete with the work the User 1 started.
  • The User 1 can't see the Job 3 collaboration job, event though it is in the same Org1 organization, because it is assigned to the Group 3.
  • The User 9 can't see any collaboration jobs, because this user doesn't have the Collaboration Job View permission.

Next, learn how to view roles.