User Visibility Rules for Transactions

   Journey Manager (JM) Previously known as Transact Manager (TM).  |    System Manager / DevOps  |  v19.05 This feature was introduced in v19.05.

Manager doesn't maintain relationships between users and organizations to determine which transactions a user can see when using the Workspaces portal or the APIs. Instead, Manager defines a set of rules to filter out transactions that a user can see:

  1. Manager applies the Help Desk View permission to select an initial collection of transactions. A user can see the whole or part of this collection depending on the following conditions:
    • A user with the Help Desk View permission can see transactions with a group, user or both.
    • A user without the Help Desk View permission by default can only see transactions if they are allocated to it or if they are in the same group.
    • A user with the Help Desk Authenticated Edit permission can see other users' authenticated transactions.
  2. Manager applies more rules to select a subset of transactions from the collection above:
    • A global user, with the global access enabled, can see all above transactions.
    • Otherwise
      • A user with a limited number of organizations can see transactions from above for those organizations only.
      • A user which is not global and has no organization can see only own transactions from above.

To explain how these rules work, we will list several users, transactions and their combinations showing whether a user can view these transactions or not.

The first table shows users with the access to organizations, some of which have global access, groups and the Workspaces permissions assigned to them.

  Org1 Org2 Org3 Org4 Org5 Org6 Global Access Group1 Group2 Group3 Group4 Permission
User1

         

 

   
User2  

       

 

   
User3    

                 
User4      

   

       

Help Desk Authenticated Edit

User5        

 

       

Help Desk View

User6          

       

 
User7          

           

The second table shows transactions belonging to an organization, a group and having a user assigned.

  Org1 Org2 Org6 Group1 Group2 Group3 Group4 User1 User2 User6 User7
Anon Txn                      
User1 Txn                  
User2 Txn                  
Group1 Txn                    
Group2 Txn                    
Group3 Txn                
Group4 Txn                

This table shows whether a user can see transactions or not.

  Anon Txn User1 Txn User2 Txn Group1 Txn Group2 Txn Group3 Txn Group4 Txn
User1          
User2          
User3              
User4  
User5            
User6          
User7            

This table helps you understand why some users don't see some or any transactions in their space, so you can review the user role, group and permission configurations to resolve the access issues. To illustrate this, we have provided a few examples:

  • The User 1 creates an anonymous transaction by filling a form, but can't continue with it, so the User 1 calls the help desk. The User 5 is a help desk user with the Help Desk View permission, so the User 5 can see the transaction and therefore can help the User 1 to complete it.
  • The User 7 can see the Group4 Txn, because it's assigned to this user.
  • The User 3 can't see any transactions, because there are no transactions belonging to Org3 organization, and the user doesn't have a global access and doesn't belong to any group.

Next, learn how to view roles.